Last day at IFCH

Today was my last day at work, and it was harder than I thought to say goodbye to everyone. I know I haven't told you much about my everyday life at the children's hospital, so here it is:
It's been an incredible opportunity to work alongside a great pediatrician and surgeon, and I've seen so many cases you'd never have a chance of seeing back home! This is because people can't afford to go to a doctor, or worse: don't believe in them. So instead they go to a temple and pray, sacrifice a goat, and come to the hospital when their kid had septic arthiritis for 5 months that now turned in to osteomalitis, and the kid can't walk anymore.

I've seen many kids die, familys (more or less everyone in the neighbourhood the family lives in) stand outside the hospital crying and screaming. And the funny custom of bringing your own food, or better, light a fire on the ground outside the hospital and prepare it there.
It's been an adventure, like my whole stay in Nepal. And this is not a conclusion, since it's not over yet. I still got a great new years to come, and I'm really looking forward to it!





The girls & me squished in a cab.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0